A representation of Psyche, taken from the BPS logo
BPS updates, Equality, diversity and inclusion

BPS welcomes its new Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Board

The BPS is pleased to introduce the members of its new EDI Strategic Board.

18 January 2023

By BPS Communications

The new board replaces the Diversity and Inclusion Taskforce that ended after two highly successful years in December 2021 and will work closely with its partner strategic boards, member networks, BPS staff and trustees to embed equality, diversity and inclusion into practice, governance, standards and organisational development.

Strong board-level work around equality, diversity and inclusion requires commitment and helps an organisation to make better decisions while ensuring it remains relevant to those it serves. The EDI Board recognises that the journey is far from over in ensuring BPS leads the way, nationally, in equality, diversity and inclusion and also recognises that equality, diversity and inclusion are everyone’s responsibility within the Society.

Adam Jowett, chair of the EDI Strategic Board said:

“I’m humbled to be working with such a fantastic team of members with an incredible breadth of expertise in different aspects of EDI work. The EDI Strategic Board’s membership is diverse, many of whom bring lived experience of belonging to marginalised groups in addition to their professional expertise from practice or research. We also have representation from across the discipline of psychology.”

BPS welcomes the following members of the new EDI Board

  • Bridgette Rickett - Associate Professor, Head of Psychology Department, Leeds School of
  • Social Sciences, Leeds Beckett University.
  • Alan Laville - Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology and Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, University of Reading.
  • Douglas Martin - Senior Lecturer, School of Psychology, University of Aberdeen.
  • Hasan Waheed - Clinical Psychologist, Just Psychology.
  • Jolel Miah – Lecturer, University of Sunderland.
  • Trevor James – Assistant Professor, University of Durham.
  • Zayba Ghazali-Mohammed - Lecturer, University of Glasgow.
  • Denise. A. Miller – Associate Professor, University of Greenwich.
  • Jan Smith, Lecturer in Psychology, Glasgow Caledonian University.  
  • Eduard Margarit - Assistant Psychologist – South West London and St George’s Mental Health Trust.
  • Gayle Brewer - Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology, University of Liverpool.
  • Joanna Homewood - Consultant Clinical Forensic Psychologist.
  • Max Chamberlain – Consulting Psychologist.
  • Philip McKee – Organisational Development Specialist, Deutsche Bank.
  • Dr Varuni Wimalasiri – Lecturer, University of Aberdeen.

The EDI Board will support three advisory groups. These include:

  • Human Rights Advisory Group
  • Experts by Experience Advisory Group
  • Inclusive Psychology Advisory Group.

The EDI Board would like to thank the Diversity and Inclusion Taskforce for all their hard work from 2019 to 2021, and looks forward to building upon the outcomes of the taskforce.  As part of the handover an oral history of the taskforce was completed in 2021 and can be viewed here.

For more information on the new EDI Board or enquires relating to equality, diversity, inclusion and human rights practice please email [email protected]