Go to main content
BPS News

Three new Honorary Fellows elected at Society AGM

03 May 2017

Carolyn Kagan, Michael Murray and John Oates joined a select group by being elected as Honorary Fellow of the Society at the Annual General Meeting of the Society today.

The AGM was held in Brighton during the Society’s Annual Conference.

Professor Carolyn Kagan is Professor Emerita of Social & Community Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University. She was described at the AGM as having, throughout her career, heeded the call to ‘give psychology away’. She continues to contribute and exert influence in multiple psychological fields.

Professor Michael Murray, Professor and Head of Psychology at Keele University, was described as being known and loved internationally for his paradigm-changing focus on human understanding and emancipation. His work has advanced psychological theory, research and practice through a sustained programme of critical engagement.

John Oates, from the Open University, was described as a psychologist of distinction and scholarship who has applied his deep knowledge of developmental psychology to understanding and enabling children and families. His work is infused with integrity and his commitment to helping others is exceptional.


Top of page