Go to main content
BPS News

Spearman Medal winners

22 March 2017

Dr Rachael Jack of the University of Glasgow and Dr Claire Haworth of the University of Bristol have both been awarded the 2017 Spearman Medal.

Dr Jack has conducted a significant body of research on emotion communication across cultures, particularly facial expressions.  As well as having her work published in various high impact journals, National Geographic, The Wall Street Journal, New Scientist and Time Magazine amongst others, Dr Jack’s work has received several international awards and featured in the Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition 2015. In response to her award she said:

“I am absolutely thrilled to receive the Spearman Medal. My greatest thanks goes to the BPS for awarding this prize, and especially to Professor Simon Garrod who nominated me. It’s a great honour to join such a stellar list of previous winners, many of whom have inspired and shaped the field. I hope that my work will inspire the new generation of researchers, and to encourage wider participation in psychological science.”

Dr Haworth has to date 85 publications in high impact journals and has been cited more than 4000 times for her research in behavioural genetics.  Her most recent work has focused on mental health and psychological wellbeing in adolescence and young adulthood.  She has also provided expert opinion in documentaries for the BBC, as well as appearing on Radio 4’s Women’s Hour, Sky News and the BBC’s World Service and world news. She acknowledged the award by saying:

“I am absolutely delighted to have been awarded the BPS Spearman Medal and honoured to be listed amongst such inspirational previous winners.  I am extremely grateful to my colleagues and mentors for their support during my career, and to the BPS for recognising the importance of our work on the dynamic nature of genetic and environmental influence.”

Professor Daryl O'Connor, Chair of the Research Board, added:

“The Spearman Medal recognises outstanding published work in psychology by candidates no more than 8 years following completion of their PhD. This year we received a large number of truly excellent nominations. As a result, after much deliberation, we have awarded the Medal jointly to Drs Rachel Jack and Claire Haworth. Their work was of the highest calibre and demonstrated evidence of important theoretical advances, originality and wide ranging impact. They are both very worthy winners.”


Top of page