Go to main content
BPS News

BPS Practice Board 2020 winners

25 March 2021

We are pleased to announce the 2020 winners of our Practice Board annual awards.

Every year the BPS Practice Board's awards recognise the outstanding personal achievements of those who have made significant contributions to psychological knowledge and practice. The awards are aimed at psychologists at different stages of their career.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Professor Tommy MacKayUniversity of Strathclyde
Professor MacKay is most well-known for his remarkable 10 year West Dunbartonshire Literacy Initiative that eradicated illiteracy in one of the UK’s poorest areas. However, his practice ranges much further than the field of educational and child psychology. 

Dr Adrian Needs, University of Portsmouth
Dr Needs’ career includes 14 years in the Prison Service, some of which involved working with violent offenders in high security prisons and since then he has played a major role in the development of academic and professional training routes for forensic psychologists. 

Find out more

Award for Distinguished Contribution to Practice 

Dee Anand
Dee Anand has had a varied career and he is an active and committed society member giving his valuable time and knowledge to help develop expert witness guidelines, reform MSc standards, redesign trainee qualifications and provide evidence to select committees.

Lisa Cameron MP
Dr Lisa Cameron MP has enjoyed careers in the NHS, as a Union Representative in Health, as an MP and as Shadow Mental Health Spokesperson in the House of Commons.  

Professor Kate Tchanturia, King’s College London and South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Tchanturia started her UK career in 1997, moving from her home country of Georgia, after receiving a Royal Society Award to conduct research into the neuropsychology of eating disorders in London. Her interest in the field of eating disorders led to her trailblazing outstanding developments, innovative research programmes and ground-breaking approaches to clinical practice. 

Find out more.

2020 Award for Innovation in Practice

Najwan Saaed Al-Roubaiy, American Centre for Psychiatry and Neurology

Najwan Saaed Al-Roubaiy is noted for his pioneering work developing a psychotherapeutic model for refugees in exile and for authoring the first professional CBT self-help and therapy aid in Arabic.


Find out more.


Top of page