Go to main content

Presidents' Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychological Knowledge

This award will open for nominations in early 2022.


The award is given as a mid-career recognition of the achievements of those who are currently engaged in research of outstanding quality.

As a general guide, mid-career would normally be expected to be within 10-15 years (early mid-career) to 20-25 (late mid-career) years post PhD.

Career breaks would be taken into consideration within these parameters.

Nominees do not need to be resident in the UK nor do they need not be existing members of the society.

The award confers a commemorative certificate and lifetime membership of the society.


For further information on how to make a nomination, and a link to the electronic application form, please contact [email protected]

Please note: nominators must be members of the society.

2020 Professor Daniel Freeman
2019 Francesca Happé
2018 Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
2017 Marcus Munafò
2016 Alex Haslam
2015 Matthew Lambon Ralph
2014 Richard Crisp
2013 Tim Dalgleish
2012 Constantine Sedikides
2011 Usha Goswami
2010 Paul Burgess
2009 Dominic Abrams and Jon Driver
2008 Mark Johnson
2007 Susan Gathercole
2006 Simon Baron-Cohen
2005 Peter Halligan
2004 Tony Manstead and Steven Tipper
2003 Margaret J. Snowling
2002 Graham Hitch
2001 Miles Hewstone
2000 David Perrett
1999 Glyn Humphreys
1998 John Sloboda
1997 Vicki Bruce
1996 Frank Fincham
1995 Andrew Young
1994 Marie Johnson
1993 Michael Morgan
1992 Andrew Mathews
1991 Tim Shallice
1990 Uta Frith
1989 Howard Giles
1988 John Morton
1987 Max Coltheart
1986 N. J. Mackintosh
1985 Philip Johnson-Laird
1984 Peter Bryant
1983 Jeffrey A. Gray
1982 Peter Warr
1981 Alan D. Baddeley
Top of page