Go to main content

Practitioner of the Year

This award recognises, promotes and rewards good practice undertaken by Chartered members of the Society in the preceding 12 months.

It is anticipated that this award will be made to a psychologist early in their career. 

The award will confer a commemorative certificate which will be presented to the recipient at an appropriate Society conference.


The Practitioner of the Year Award is open to practitioners who are Chartered Psychologists in any area of professional applied psychology.

A nomination will only be accepted for named individual(s) or for a body of work where the contributions of those Chartered Psychologists involved can be clearly shown.

Self-nominations and third-party nominations (including colleagues, employers and clients etc.) will be accepted. It is not limited to residents of the UK.

The award will not be made to psychologists whose main area of work is within an academic department.

This award is open each year from 1 July, with final nominations accepted no later than 1 December.

Full details are available from Carl Bourton at the BPS Leicester office.

Previous recipients

2016 Anne Cooke
2015 Jill Winegardner
2014 Emma Donaldson-Feilder, Rachel Lewis and Hamilton Fairfax
2013 Peter Martin
2012 Susan van Scoyoc
2011 Barbara Douglas
Top of page