Go to main content

Lifetime Achievement

This award recognises and celebrates unusually significant and sustained contributions in a career as a Chartered practitioner of applied psychology.

It is anticipated that this award will be made to a psychologist near the end of their career. 

The award will confer life membership of the Society, and a commemorative certificate will be presented to the recipient at an appropriate Society conference.


The Lifetime Achievement Award is open to current or retired Chartered practitioners in any area of professional applied psychology.

Nominees need to be Chartered members of the Society and it is expected that award winners will not only have enjoyed outstanding personal success but will also have reinvested in psychology through encouraging and developing others; contributions to the work of the Society would be evidence of this.

The award will not be made to a psychologist whose main area of work is or was within an academic department.

It is not limited to residents of the UK.

This award is open each year from 1 July, with final nominations accepted no later than 1 December. 

Full details are available from Carl Bourton at the BPS Leicester office.

Previous recipients

2016 Professor Narinder Kapur and Professor Tom McMillan
2015 Robin Morris
2014 Neil Frude
2013 Dave M. Clark and Elizabeth Kuipers
2012 Peter Fonagy
2011 Chris Cullen
2010 John Hall and Gerry Randell
2009 Gisli Gudjonsson and Stanley Rachman
2008 Barbara Wilson
2007 Joan Freeman
2006 Ian Gray
Top of page