Go to main content

Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in Practice

This award is aimed at psychologists who have made an outstanding contribution to professional practice within the United Kingdom.

It is anticipated that this award will be made to a psychologist in mid-career.

The Award will confer life membership of the Society and a commemorative certificate will be presented to the recipient at the Annual Conference of the Society.

The recipient will also deliver an address at the said Annual Conference.


The Award for Distinguished Contributions is open to any current practitioner of psychology in any area of professional applied psychology and is not restricted to members of the Society.

It is anticipated that the nominee will be employed or self-employed for the majority of their time as a professional psychologist engaged in the delivery of a service to the public.

The award will not be made to psychologists whose main area of work is within an academic department

This award is open each year from 1 July, with final nominations accepted no later than 1 December

Full details are available from Carl Bourton at the BPS Leicester office.

Previous recipients

2016 Dr Joanna North
2015 No award
2014 Guy Holmes
2013 No award
2012 No award
2011 Nimisha Patel
2010 Rosamund (Roz) Shafran
2009 David Lane and Graham Turpin
2008 Paul Chadwick
2007 Tommy Mackay
2006 Mark Hayward
2005 Gill Aitken
2004 David Bartram
2003 Graham Towl
2002 Irvine S. Girsch
2001 Michael Carroll
2000 Gus Baker, John Coleman, Sue McGraw, Rea Reason, Peter Saville and Barbara Wilson
Top of page