Go to main content

Lifetime Achievement in Psychology Award

This annual award recognises and celebrates exceptional and sustained contributions in a career as a practitioner psychologist.

It is anticipated that this award will be made to a psychologist near or after the end of their career.


The award will confer life membership of the Society, and a commemorative certificate will be presented to the recipient at an appropriate Society conference. The recipient will also be invited to deliver an address at the conference.


Nominees should be:

  • Current or retired practitioners in any area of professional applied psychology.
  • Members of the Society.

Nominations are not limited to UK residents.

Self-nominations are acceptable; however, an additional referee will be required.

Nominees should have:

  • Demonstrated exceptional practice over a significant period of time, including impact outside their primary job role. This award is for lifetime achievement rather than a single contribution.
  • Enjoyed outstanding personal achievement and reinvested in psychology through encouraging and developing others.
  • Displayed a wisdom and depth of service/leadership that has made a significant difference to a number of individuals or groups. 

For further details, please contact [email protected]

Nominations are now closed, this award will open again in 2020.


    Previous recipients

    Please note: recipients prior to 2017 award will have received the 'Lifetime Achievement' award.

    2016 Professor Narinder Kapur and Professor Tom McMillan
    2015 Robin Morris
    2014 Neil Frude
    2013 Dave M. Clark and Elizabeth Kuipers
    2012 Peter Fonagy
    2011 Chris Cullen
    2010 John Hall and Gerry Randell
    2009 Gisli Gudjonsson and Stanley Rachman
    2008 Barbara Wilson
    2007 Joan Freeman
    2006 Ian Gray
    Top of page