Go to main content

Ethics Committee Awards

The Ethics Committee is currently only responsible for the provision of a single award.

Award for Promoting Equality of Opportunity

This award recognises a person whose work as a psychologist (teacher, researcher or practitioner) has made an exceptional and sustained contribution to challenging social inequalities in relation to gender, race, ethnic origin, nationality, religion, sexual orientation, disability or age.

The recipient is invited to deliver an Award lecture at our Annual Conference and to accept a commemorative certificate. 

Guidance for assessors and a copy of the nomination form can be obtained from Lorraine Isaac at [email protected]

In the absence of any nominations of sufficient merit no award will be given.

Nomations for 2018 are now open

Nominations should include a completed nomination form providing evidence of some, or all, of the following:

  • The individual’s personal commitment to equality issues;
  • A significant and sustained impact of the candidate’s contributions to psychological teaching, research or practice (inclusive of published works and influence on professional practice); 
  • A significant and sustained impact of the candidate’s work on other professionals/service providers;
  • A significant and sustained impact of the candidate’s work directly for people from marginalised and oppressed social groups.

The closing date for nominations is the 21st of September.


Previous recipients

2017 Peter Hegarty
2016 No award
2015 Paul Ghuman
2014 Til Wykes
2013 Rachel Tribe
2012 Mark Burton and Martin Milton
2011 Award in abeyance
2010 Award in abeyance
2009 Award in abeyance
2008 Marilyn Davidson
2007 Adrian J. K. Webster
2006 Anne Douglas
2005 Carolyn Kagan
2004 Jeune Guishard-Pine
2003 No award
2002 -
2001 Ian Rivers
2000 No award
1999 John Kremer
1998 No award
1997 Tommy Mackay
1996 Zenobia Nadirshaw
1995 George Montgomery
1994 Sue Holland
Top of page