Go to main content

Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology Education

This annual award is given to a present or past teacher of psychology at any level, in recognition of an unusually significant contribution to education and training in psychology in the UK.

Members are invited to nominate for this award in recognition of exceptional and significant contributions to psychology education.

Further information can be obtained from [email protected]

Nominations for this award are now closed.


2017 Professor Carolyn Mair
2016 No award
2015 No award
2014 No award
2013 Phil Banyard
2012 Peter Thompson
2011 John Pearce
2010 John Maltby
2009 David Groome, Alex Haslam, and Steve Reicher
2008 Dorothy Coombs
2007 Jill Arnold
2006 Clare Wood
2005 Andy Field and Mark Griffiths
2004 No award
2003 Robert John (Sean) Cameron
2002 No award
2001 Tony Gale
2000 Joss Griffiths
1999 Stephen Newstead
1998 Edgar Stones
1997 Nicky Hayes
1996 John Radford

Inaugurated in 1996 as the Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Teaching of Psychology, it was then renamed in 2005 as the Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Psychology, then renamed again in 2010 as the Award for Excellence in Psychology Education, then once more in 2012.

Top of page