You are currently viewing our classic site, if you wish to visit the new site click here

2012 seminars and abstracts

History of the Psychological Disciplines Seminar Series

Seminars were held at the UCL Department of Clinical, Educational and Health Psychology, 1-19 Torrington Place, London WC1 

Monday 30 January 
Professor Cristiana Facchinetti (History of Science and Health, Fundação Oswaldo Cruz (Fiocruz), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), Psychoanalysis between Modern Brazil and the 'Pindorama Matriarchy' (abstract)

Tuesday 6 March 
Dr Egbert Klautke (UCL School of Slavonic and East European Studies), The French Reception of Völkerpsychologie and the Origins of the Social Sciences (abstract)

Monday 26 March 
Professor Elizabeth Valentine (Royal Holloway), Spooks and Spoofs: Relations Between Psychical Research and Academic Psychology in Britain in the Inter-war Period (abstract)

Wednesday 9 May 
Professor Jeremy Carrette (University of Kent), 'Is Life Worth Living?' William James, Religion and the Unknown (abstract)

Thursday 17 May 
Dr Fernando Vidal (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin), The Brains of Cinema and the Brains of Science (abstract)

Wednesday 6 June 
Professor Annette Mülberger (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona), The Dangerous Path of Practical Psychometry (abstract)

Tuesday 6 November 
Dr Francis Neary (University of Cambridge), From Descent to Descent 2: The sources of Charles Darwin's work on animal psychology (abstract)

Wednesday 14 November 
Professor Ramón del Castillo (Universdad Nacional de Educación a Distancia, Madrid), Madness and rules: A case for Wittgenstein (abstract)

Wednesday 21 November 
Dr Maria Teresa Brancaccio (Maastricht University), War trauma in France and Italy (1920s-1980s) (abstract)

Tuesday 11 December 
Dr Matt Ffytche (University of Essex), The embryo individual: Early twentieth-century psychodynamic perspectives on the origins of selfhood (abstract