A Level & Scottish Highers Award

This prize is awarded to those students who achieved the highest overall score in the A Level and Scottish Highers examinations from each of the main awarding bodies.

The prize consists of:

  • A student bursary to the BA Festival of Science;
  • A copy of the Society's award winning book for that year;
  • A commemorative certificate awarded at a prize giving ceremony at the Festival of Science, and;
  • A commemorative certificate and two copies of the Society's award winning book for their school or college.

Previous Winners


  • AQA - Shreya Dilip Sheth, Northwood College, Middlesex
  • Edexcel - Maria Gallagher, MidKent College of Higher & Further Education, Gillingham
  • OCR - Lorna Victoria Hardy, Brockenhurst College, Brockenhurst
  • SQA - Samantha Forsberg, Carnegie College, Dunfermline


  • AQA - Joanna Bell, Holy Cross College, Bury
  • Edexcel - Alicia Audsley, Paston College, Norfolk
  • OCR - Laura Birch, King Edward VI Five Ways School, Birmingham
  • SQA - Jodie Forteath, Forres Academy, Moray
  • WJEC - Louise Thompson, Bassaleg School, Newport


  • AQA -Joanne Butler, Lady Eleanor Holles School
  • Edexcel - Rebecca Saunders, Hills Road VI Form College
  • SQA  - Eleanor Wigham, Linlithgow Academy, Felicity Loughlin, Wellington School and Paula McCall, Reid Kerr College
  • WJEC - Jenny Gu, Bullers Wood School


  • AQA - Lucy Butterworth, Colchester County High School for Girls
  • Edexcel - Jennifer Leigh, Northgate High School
  • OCR - Thomas O'Brien, Greenhead College
  • SQA  - Juliette Brelsford, Forres Academy and Laura Cairns, Langside College

Other Society awards