Award for Excellence in Psychology Education

Members are invited to nominate for this award in recognition of exceptional contributions to psychology education.


Recipients are invited to deliver the Excellence in Psychology Education Award Lecture at the Society’s Annual Conference, at which they are presented with a commemorative certificate. 

Recipients are also offered Fellowship and Life Membership of the Society.


The Award is given as recognition of any distinguished contribution to psychology education. 

All areas of teaching and learning will be considered on equal grounds, including pre-degree teaching, teaching at first and higher degree levels, training of professional applied psychologists, the teaching of psychology to other professions and continuing education.

Candidates must normally be resident in the UK, but need not be existing members of the Society.

The formal criterion is ‘any distinguished contribution to psychology education’. This criterion is intended to be interpreted broadly and may include any of the following:

  • Performance as a teacher at any level
  • Contribution to the development of individual students
  • Contribution to course or curriculum development
  • Contributions to educational literature
  • Contributions to the profession of psychology teaching


A nomination statement clearly stating the grounds for the nomination should be sent to the Chair of the Psychology Education Board, c/o Kelly Auty, Policy Advisor (Psychology Education) at the Leicester Office.  

Nominators must be members of the Society.

Nomination statements should be supplemented by curriculum vitae and the names and addresses of three potential referees.

If appropriate, relevant supporting documentary evidence (e.g. an account in the media of the impact of a particular project) may be included.

Advice on what to include within a nomination statement

  • The nomination statement is important. The Committee uses this to assess the contribution of the candidate. Nomination statements should take the form of a narrative (1000 words maximum), highlighting the candidate’s grounds for proposal.
  • Provide information on why the candidate has been nominated and what their particular distinguished contribution is, the impact of their contribution on a local, regional, national and or international scale.
  • Use sub-headings to summarise the candidates main contribution and highlight the significant books, journal articles, and other specific key contributions and developments outlined within the candidates CV which are relevant to this award.

Conflicts of Interest

Nominators must declare all personal and professional conflicts of interest e.g. if nominating a spouse/partner or other relation.

Conflict of interest will not prevent acceptance of the nomination, but will be borne in mind by the awarding panel when considering the award.

If there is found to be a conflict of interest that has not been declared, the nomination will be withdrawn.

Awarding Panel

This will be appointed by the Psychology Education Board to select the recipient of the award, to include the Chair of the Board, The Chair of the Standing Committee on Pre-Tertiary Education and the Vice-Chair Teaching from the Division of Academics, Teachers & Researchers in Psychology.

The panel will consider all submission on the basis of

  • Originality and innovation
  • Impact on the candidate’s field of psychology education
  • Impact on students and colleagues
  • The personal contribution of the candidate within their field of psychology education
  • Overall evidence of achievement

 31 March in any given year.

The application form can be found at the bottom of this page.

Previous Winners

2012 - Dr Peter Thompson

Prior to 2012, previous winners of the Award for Excellence in Psychology Education:

2011 - Professor John Pearce

2010 - Dr John Maltby

Prior to 2010, previous winners of the Excellence in Teaching of Psychology Award:

2009 - Dr David Groome & Professor Alex Haslam/Professor Steve Reicher

2008 - Dorothy Coombs

2007 - Jill Arnold

2006 - Dr Clare Wood

2005 - Prof Mark Griffiths and Dr Andy Field



Other Society awards