New Year honours for psychologists

Three members of the British Psychological Society were recognised in the New Year honours list.

Professor Paul Webley, director of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, was awarded a CBE for services to higher education. He is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Economic Psychology and former President of the International Association for Research in Economic Psychology.  His research has examined the contribution that psychology can make to our understanding of problems that have traditionally been seen as the concern solely of economics.

Professor Jan Burns, head of the School of Psychology, Politics and Sociology at Canterbury Christ Church University, was awarded an MBE for services to people with an intellectual disability. Her research interests include gender and sexuality, the quality of life for people with intellectual disabilities and professional issues associated with clinical psychology.

As head of eligibility at INAS (the International Federation for sport for para-athletes with an intellectual disability), Professor Burns played a key role in the re-establishment of events for people with intellectual disabilities at the London 2012 Paralympics.

She received a public engagement grant from the Society to enable her to develop web-based and physical resources that explain why people with learning disabilities have been included in the Paralympics and how the systems of general eligibility and sport-specific classification work for this group, and her work was also featured in Nature.

Professor Susan Hallam, Professor of Education and Music Psychology at the Institute of Education, University of London, received an MBE for services to music education.  Professor Hallam is a member of the editorial board of the journal Psychology of Music and the Journal of the Institute for Educational Research. Her research interests include disaffection from school, learning and understanding, ability grouping, music psychology and music education.

Society members may be interested to know of two other awards: Dr Anna van der Gaag, chair of the Health and Care Professions Council received a CBE for services to health and care, and Dr Hilary Cass, President of the Royal College of Paediatric and Child Health, received an  OBE for services to child health.