Honorary Fellow awarded prestigious international science prize

Honorary Fellow of the British Psychological Society, Professor Annette Karmiloff-Smith, will be awarded the Fondation Mattei Dogan Prize in Psychological Science this week.

The presentation takes place on Thursday 26 July 2012 at the 30th International Congress of Psychology (ICP) held in Cape Town, South Africa.

Professor Karmiloff-Smith, of Birkbeck University London, is awarded the prize for her research on mapping the development of language, communication, counting and maths skills with psychology, genetics, neuroscience and computational modeling. She is one of the world’s foremost developmental psychologists and cognitive neuroscientists.  Professor Karmiloff-Smith is known internationally for her contributions to the understanding of human cognitive development, including in infants and children with genetic disorders.

Professor Karmioff-Smith commented: "I am honoured to receive this award, and especially delighted that it recognises the importance of development in psychological research."

She has trained numerous undergraduates, Masters and Doctoral students, as well as postdoctoral fellows, many of whom have gone on to win awards, and have excellent academic or research careers at the most prestigious universities and research institutes across the world.

Dr Peter Banister, President of the British Psychological Society said: “This obviously is a great international achievement and recognition for Annette. The Society is delighted that this prestigious award has been made to one of our Honorary Fellows.

“What makes Annette stand apart from other scientists in all these fields, and which represents the hallmark of her career, is that she has contributed to major theoretical and experimental paradigm shifts in many different cognitive domains, different age groups and different neurodevelopmental disorders. She has also contributed to the wider public understanding of developmental science.”

The Fondation Mattei Dogan Prize in Psychological Science was established in 2006 by the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS) and funded by the Mattei Dogan Foundation.

The award is part an IUPsyS initiative to recognise achievements by psychologists. The Fondation Mattei Dogan Prize is awarded in recognition of a contribution that represents a major advancement in psychology by a scholar or team of scholars of high international reputation. The Prize carries an honorarium of US $4000 and the recipient is invited to deliver a plenary scientific lecture at the International Congress of  Psychology.